Closing soon: QEP Doctoral Research Prize 2017 – nominate by 6 January 2017

QEP Group Doctoral Research Prize 2017

This annual group prize recognises students who have conducted doctoral research of an exceptional standard in the field of quantum electronics and photonics. The winning student receives an award of £250 and a certificate.

The prize is open to students who have successfully completed or are completing their PhD examination, to the stage of an examiners’ recommendation of at least a “pass with minor corrections”, during the 2016 calendar year.

Details of the prize can be accessed in the document and the nomination procedure can be found on the group website.

Nomination Deadline: 6 January 2017


[Image Credit: Idaho National Laboratory]


IOP Awards 2017 – open for nominations

The IOP Awards recognise and reward excellence in people and teams who have made outstanding and exceptional contributions to physics. The call for nominations for the 2017 Awards is now open until 31 January 2017.

Support the photonics community by nominating someone in your area who you feel is deserving of an award, whether they are working in academia, industry or business.

Visit the IOP Awards website to find out more details and how to nominate.

John Dudley recognised with the IOP Presidents Medal

At the Institute of Physics’ annual Awards Dinner on 29 November 2016, IOP president, Professor Roy Sambles said he had the privilege of awarding a President’s Medal once or twice during his term of office at his own discretion.

dudley2This year Sambles has chosen Professor John Dudley of the Institut FEMTO-ST, CNRS-Université de Franche-Comté. Dudley, he said, had stood out “not so much for the physics he did but for the phenomenal effort he put into promoting worldwide public awareness of the importance of physics by initiating and driving the International Year of Light, a global year of science outreach, reaching millions of people in more than 100 countries”. It is fitting recognistion for the work he did towards IYL2015.

[Image Credits: Ibn Al-Haytham and Institute of Physics]



Pendry and Sibbett recognised at IOP Awards dinner as new honorary fellows

Among the six honorary fellows named by the Institute of Physics (the highest honour that the Institute can bestow), and recognised at the recent annual awards dinner, were Sir Professor John Pendry (Imperial College London) for ‘his major contribution to physics through seminal research in surface science, photonics and metamaterials and through service to the Institute’, and Professor Wilson Sibbett (University of St Andrews) for ‘his pioneering research in optics and outstanding contributions to the physics community’.

Full details of the fellowships and other recipients are available.

[Image Credit: Institute of Physics]

EPL seeks new Editor-in-Chief

Nominations are now open for the Editor in Chief of EPL (Europhysics Letters), a leading, global letters journal owned and published by a consortium of 17 physical societies in Europe.  The Editor in Chief (EiC) needs to be a recognized authority and leading researcher in a field of physics, and have a broad knowledge and interest in physics and its frontiers. The EiC will need to demonstrate strong commitment and leadership to further develop EPL as a top-ranking journal. Experience with the editorial process for a physics journal is also desirable. The EiC is central to enhancing EPL’s position as a leading global physics letters journal.  The term of office of EPL Editor in Chief is three and a half years beginning in July 2017. A job description is available at

Nominations must include a CV, publication list and a brief covering letter describing the qualifications and the interest of the individual in the position of EPL Editor in Chief. Nominations should be sent to the EPL Editorial Office no later than 15 January 2017 (

An annual honorarium is provided, as well as all costs related to the function of Editor in Chief. Further information can be obtained from the Editorial Office in Mulhouse.


Invitation for new QEP Group committee members

IOP groups are at the forefront of advancing physics. Help drive your discipline forward by joining the Quantum Electronics and Photonics Group Committee.

We are currently looking for five Ordinary Members, Secretary and/or Treasurer (please note that the latter may be joint or separate roles). Details of the roles and how to apply can be found here.

The committee normally meets in person once a year, with a further 2-3 teleconferences in between. Its role is primarily to support the photonics community in the UK. It is active in helping to organise the biennial Photon conference as well as other smaller meetings; in considering applications for event support; in awarding the group’s annual Doctoral Research Prize; in production of an online newsletter; and through input into other matters as they arise.

To join the committee please complete the nomination form in the document above and email to before 16 November 2016. If more nominations are received than positions available an election will be held.

You can read about how IOP groups helped develop the career of University of Sheffield head of physics Nigel Clarke on the Institute’s blog.

Informal enquiries about any of the roles are very welcome and should be emailed to the group Secretary, Dr Jarlath McKenna by email (


[Image Credit: Luciano Zanardo]

Final report on IYL2015

The steering committee for the International Year of Light and Light-based Technologies 2015 (IYL 2015) have published a report on the global outreach and success of the initiative, that saw over 13,000 events take place with an impact that reached 147 countries.

Professor John Dudley, Chair of the IYL 2015 Steering Committee, expressed “This report aims to give a synthetic account of IYL 2015, first describing its origins and goals, and then providing a summary of the many events and activities that took place worldwide. The report also contains information on organisation and communications, and it is hoped that these details may provide guidance for others who may wish to organize a similar global outreach initiative in the future.”.

The report can be accessed at the IYL2015 site.

[Image Credit: LPWA]