Women in Optics industrial event @ Photon16

This year Photon16 conference at University of Leeds will be holding a special ‘Women in Optics: Working in Industry’ event to provide information and advice to academic researchers and PhD students on how to begin and advance a career in industry.

It will be an interactive Q&A session with three speakers (Dr Phillipa Timmins, Dr Susannah Heck & Dr Maria Serrate), with a diverse range of experiences, each giving a short summary of their career paths taking questions from the audience.

The event takes place on 7 September, 13:15 – 14:00 @ Photon16 at University of Leeds. Refreshments will be provided. Download more details.


Strong photonics presence among the IOP Awards 2016 winners

We congraulate all the IOP Award winners of 2016 who have now been announced. It is inspiring to see a large number of the recipients being recognised for their research and dedication to the field of optics and photonics, and related disciplines. Among those awarded are:

  • Professor Jenny Nelson (Imperial College London), recipient of the Faraday Medal and Prize, ‘for her pioneering advances in the science of nanostructured and molecular semiconductor materials.’
  • Dr Graeme Malcolm (M Squared Lasers), recipient of the Swan Medal and prize, ‘for his role in founding M Squared Lasers, and his contribution to the design and manufacture of transformative award-winning photonics products.’
  • Dr Alexandra Olaya-Castro (University College London), recipient of the Maxwell Medal and Prize, ‘for her contributions to the theory of quantum effects in biomolecular systems – in particular, to the understanding of exciton-vibration interactions and the emergence of nontrivial quantum behaviour in photosynthetic complexes.’
  • Dr Jacopo Bertolotti (University of Exeter), recipient of the Moseley Medal and Prize, ‘for his contributions to the understanding and exploitation of light scattering both in natural and in artificial materials.’
  • Professor Malte Gather (University of St Andrews), recipient of the Paterson Medal and Prize, ‘for inventing a way of generating laser light within live cells and pioneering the application of this concept for the life sciences, and for his work on organic LEDs, which find applications in the display industry and in biophotonics.’
  • Professor Martin Dawson (University of Strathclyde), recipient of the Gabor Medal and Prize, ‘for his vision and leadership in applied photonics, including pioneering contributions to optically pumped semiconductor lasers, diamond photonics and gallium nitride optical microsystems, and for fostering the international development and commercialisation of these technologies.’
  • Professor Sheila Rowan (University of Glasgow), recipient of the Hoyle Medal and Prize, ‘for having devised and implemented a range of refinements in precision laser interferometers, pioneering aspects of the technology of gravitational wave observatories.’
  • Professor Jeremy Hutson (University of Durham), recipient of the Thomson Medal and Prize, ‘for his pioneering work on the theory of ultracold molecules, which has provided fundamental insights into ultracold atomic and molecular collisions and which underpins recent experiments to create molecular quantum gases.’

The awardees will receive their prizes at a special award ceremony  and dinner hosted by the Institute later in the year.

EOS Early Career Awards

The European Optical Society (EOS) is actively supporting the career of young scientists by two awards, the EOS Early Career Award Women in Photonics and the EOS Early Career
Entrepreneur in Photonics.

The former is presented to honour a female scientist who has made outstanding contributions to photonics while the latter is presented to honour an individual who has made outstanding technical and/or innovative contributions to the photonics industry. Both awards are open to nominees born in 1979 or after and active in the field of photonics and consists of a diploma and an honorarium of €2500.

Details on the awards are available to download and online.

The application deadline is 15 July 2016.