EPL seeks new Editor-in-Chief

Nominations are now open for the Editor in Chief of EPL (Europhysics Letters), a leading, global letters journal owned and published by a consortium of 17 physical societies in Europe.  The Editor in Chief (EiC) needs to be a recognized authority and leading researcher in a field of physics, and have a broad knowledge and interest in physics and its frontiers. The EiC will need to demonstrate strong commitment and leadership to further develop EPL as a top-ranking journal. Experience with the editorial process for a physics journal is also desirable. The EiC is central to enhancing EPL’s position as a leading global physics letters journal.  The term of office of EPL Editor in Chief is three and a half years beginning in July 2017. A job description is available at www.epletters.net.

Nominations must include a CV, publication list and a brief covering letter describing the qualifications and the interest of the individual in the position of EPL Editor in Chief. Nominations should be sent to the EPL Editorial Office no later than 15 January 2017 (editorial.office@epletters.net).

An annual honorarium is provided, as well as all costs related to the function of Editor in Chief. Further information can be obtained from the Editorial Office in Mulhouse.


Invitation for new QEP Group committee members

IOP groups are at the forefront of advancing physics. Help drive your discipline forward by joining the Quantum Electronics and Photonics Group Committee.

We are currently looking for five Ordinary Members, Secretary and/or Treasurer (please note that the latter may be joint or separate roles). Details of the roles and how to apply can be found here.

The committee normally meets in person once a year, with a further 2-3 teleconferences in between. Its role is primarily to support the photonics community in the UK. It is active in helping to organise the biennial Photon conference as well as other smaller meetings; in considering applications for event support; in awarding the group’s annual Doctoral Research Prize; in production of an online newsletter; and through input into other matters as they arise.

To join the committee please complete the nomination form in the document above and email to groups@iop.org before 16 November 2016. If more nominations are received than positions available an election will be held.

You can read about how IOP groups helped develop the career of University of Sheffield head of physics Nigel Clarke on the Institute’s blog.

Informal enquiries about any of the roles are very welcome and should be emailed to the group Secretary, Dr Jarlath McKenna by email (Jarlath.McKenna@iop.org).


[Image Credit: Luciano Zanardo]

Final report on IYL2015

The steering committee for the International Year of Light and Light-based Technologies 2015 (IYL 2015) have published a report on the global outreach and success of the initiative, that saw over 13,000 events take place with an impact that reached 147 countries.

Professor John Dudley, Chair of the IYL 2015 Steering Committee, expressed “This report aims to give a synthetic account of IYL 2015, first describing its origins and goals, and then providing a summary of the many events and activities that took place worldwide. The report also contains information on organisation and communications, and it is hoped that these details may provide guidance for others who may wish to organize a similar global outreach initiative in the future.”.

The report can be accessed at the IYL2015 site.

[Image Credit: LPWA]



OECS 2017 to be hosted in Bath

The International conference on Optics of Excitons in Confined Systems (OECS 2017) is to take place at the University of Bath from 10-15 September 2017.

The event brings together internationally leading scientists and many young researchers collaborating in a broad range of scientific topics related to optics of excitons in confined systems. The main goal of this conference is to discuss in-depth new important results, ideas and future directions in the existing as well as in the emerging areas of research.

Visit the OECS 2017 website for more details.


[Image Credit: Harpreet Riat]

Are you involved in physics communication in your early career?

The IOP Physics Communicators Group has invited applications for their Early Career Physics Communicator Award from people at the start of their careers in physics who have undertaken activities that support and encourage excellent communication of physics. The prize is awarded annually and to be eligible applicants must be resident in the UK or Eire and either within five years of a first degree in physics or currently engaged in postgraduate study in physics.

The deadline for applications is 3 October 2016.

Shortlisted applicants will give a presentation about their physics communication activities at a special event on 21 November 2016 and the winner will receive £250 and a certificate. For more details visit the prize website.


[Image Credit: Shakakahnevan]

Optics + Ultrasound III: call for papers

The third Optics + Ultrasound meeting at the University of Nottingham on 9 November 2016, sponsored by the IOP Physical Acoustics and Optical Groups, has announced a call for papers.

Combining optics and ultrasound leads to many powerful techniques for probing and manipulating matter. Applications are wide ranging and include medical imaging, non destructive testing and fundamental science ranging from the macroscale down to the nanoscale. Following highly successful meetings sponsored by the Institute of Physics, Optics+Ultrasound III has been announced.

Suggested topics include but are not limited to: medical imaging / non destructive testing / generation / detection / photoacoustic imaging / ultrasound modulated optical tomography / novel contrast agents e.g. nanoparticles, microbubbles / optical detection of ultrasound / reconstruction algorithms / modelling of light sound interaction / elastography / thin films / structure materials / phononics / tranducers and sensors.

Abstracts (~100-150 words) should be emailed to Emily Mason by 30 September 2016.


International Commission for Optics call for officer nominations: deadline 28 February 2017

The International Commission for Optics (ICO) is an umbrella body whose objective is to contribute to the progress and diffusion of knowledge in the field of optics, particularly through the organisation of scientific meetings. Through an annual subscription, the IOP is a member of ICO and acts as a liaison point between it and our members based in the UK and Ireland.

The ICO is currently in the process of seeking nominations for candidates to sit on its governing body, the ICO Bureau, which will be reconstituted at the ICO-24, Triennial Congress in Tokyo, 22-27 September 2017. The officers to be elected are president, secretary, associate secretary, treasurer and eight elected vice-presidents (two of whom must represent industry).

The ICO is requesting the IOP to submit nominations by 28 February 2017. Sitting on the ICO Bureau will allow IOP members based in the UK and Ireland to help influence the activities of the ICO to enlarge the presence of optics and photonics internationally, through activities that will support science and technology, education, the promotion of young researchers and entrepreneurship.

If you are an IOP member, and being nominated for one or more of the officer posts is something you would be interested in, please send Linsey Clark (International Officer, Institute of Physics) a short CV and/or biographical statement, which she will be able to submit to the ICO.